A Day in the Life Of: Building the Twine Game #Hive55

During these past two weeks, I have worked with Ashournia Slewo and Tracy Sanfilippo to create a Twine game using HTML code for our COM 5500 class. We called our Twine game “A Day In The Life Of.” The theme for our story was various events that could happen in an average college student’s life. Particularly, we decided to cover friendship and relationship drama that happens within a study group.

We overall wanted to have a lot of fun making this game. But as we were brainstorming ideas for the story plot, we realized many of the situations is something all three of us have dealt with being a college student. We ended up wanting to make this game relevant to our potential players…many of which who are college students as well. By creating something more generally relevant like this, it opens up many kinds of journalistic opportunities to cover–from creating a healthy study group to dealing with relationship drama. Concluding our game, we added a link on how to create a healthy study group.

Because I am the most familiar with HTML coding in the group, I volunteered to create the Twine game on my computer. In addition to that, I created the first seven slides, which introduces the main and supporting characters, Ashley, Heather, Kirk and Dr. Brooks. These slides immediately started a class mental debate within a student’s mind: skip or not to skip class?

Even though I enjoyed writing the entire scene of Dr. Brooks busting Ashley for almost skipping class, it was ultimately important for her to go to class. There was a larger purpose behind that. With this temptation scene to skip class, I created the scenario that sets up the larger purpose: sit in class with your study group…but do you choose to sit next to Heather the best friend or Kirk the handsome dude?

By doing this, I set up the scene and let Ashourina and Tracy take over with the dialogue. I was very happy with the dialogue and how the three of us created a cohesive story!

In the process of making the game for our class presentation, I got a bit frustrated at times. Our main issue was having broken links, especially when I tried to apply images. It was not fun for me at all. So I wasn’t satisfied with the visual aspects when we presented it to our COM 5500 classmates for this first time around. But I’m happy we got a re-do and was able to fix our mistakes. With that, I also included a picture, video or SoundCloud file in every slide.

Being a fan of choosing your own adventure activities, especially EA’s gaming franchise The Sims, I was already into creating stories like this. But this was a whole new level that ends up being public content. My main concern was being embarrassed about the dialogue we created! But overall, we came out almost on top, since we were voted second-best in the class…even with our technical difficulties during our class presentation!

And on top of that, I found myself quickly memorizing and remembering the different HTML coding, which is quite exciting for me since I have found it hard to pick up a foreign language. Maybe this is a sign for something better!

Though I enjoyed my time with Twine, I don’t think there’s really any further benefit for marketing purposes or anything like that. It’s a cute thing, but I’d rather live out the choose-your-own-adventures through my Sims games.
 

Leave a Reply

